Welcome to WordsWithFriends.net Q&A, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.

2 Letters left but cant find anywhere to use them.. so I lose?

0 votes
I'm down by 2 points and I have 2 U's left. I swear I've tried every spot.. I was wondering if the game would end if it knew it wasn't possible to make a word? or I'm supposed to pass and lose the game
asked 8 years ago by anonymous

2 Answers

+2 votes
 
Best answer
The game ends when one player runs out of letters or if there are three consecutive turns where zero points are scored as long as the score is not zero to zero.  So I'm afraid that if you have no place to play your remaining letters, you'll have to pass in order for the game to continue.

It's not an automatic loss for you... there is still a slim hope of winning if you are only 2 points down.  Assuming that your opponent does not go out, his/her next play may give you an opportunity to play one or both of your Us.  If your opponent is in the same boat has you and also has unplayable letters, he/she will also be forced to pass.  The rules do not explicitly state this, but I believe that if the game ends due to players passing three times in a row then both players will subtract the total point value of what's left on their rack from their score, which gives you a chance of winning if your opponent has a letter or letters remaining that are big enough to tip the balance in your favor.  So yes, you're supposed to pass, but if you get the right lucky break you still have a small chance of eking out a win.
answered 8 years ago by Tiler8 Word Freak (2,240 points)
+1 vote
You will have to pass the game until either you or your opponent uses all the letters. And yes, you will lose if your opponent is ahead. So sad.
answered 8 years ago by Debbyoc Word Freak (188,400 points)

Related questions